The Book of Mistakes (Hardcover)

The Book of Mistakes Cover Image
By Corinna Luyken, Corinna Luyken (Illustrator)
$18.99
Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Zoom meets Beautiful Oops in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go , it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

About the Author


Corinna Luyken grew up in different cities along the West Coast, and after studying at Middlebury College, she settled in Washington State, where she draws inspiration from nature, her family, and the human form. She got the idea for The Book of Mistakes by doing art activities with children in schools. This is her debut book.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735227927
ISBN-10: 0735227926
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: April 18th, 2017
Pages: 56
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card