Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)

Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited (Dover Thrift Editions) Cover Image
$7.00
Backordered
(This book cannot be returned.)

Description


In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind.
Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.

About the Author


In addition to his Utopian satire Erewhon, Samuel Butler (1835-1902) remains best known for his semi-autobiographical novel, The Way of All Flesh. His other works comprise studies of Italian art, literary history and criticism, and prose translations of the Illiad and Odyssey that remain in use to this day.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780486796376
ISBN-10: 048679637X
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: June 17th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Dover Thrift Editions

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card