The Mystery Guest: A Maid Novel (Molly the Maid #2) (Hardcover)

The Mystery Guest: A Maid Novel (Molly the Maid #2) By Nita Prose Cover Image

The Mystery Guest: A Maid Novel (Molly the Maid #2) (Hardcover)

$29.00


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
31 on hand, as of Dec 8 5:19am
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
12 on hand, as of Dec 8 6:19am
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1270 5th Street NE)
11 on hand, as of Dec 8 5:33am

December 2023 Indie Next List


“Molly is back with another entertaining mystery to solve at the Regency Grand Hotel. This time, a famous author is under scrutiny, featuring a pack of rabid fans and a peek into Molly’s past. Pour a nice cup of tea and enjoy Molly’s next case!”
— Jenny Stroyeck, The Homer Bookstore, Homer, AK

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A new mess. A new mystery. It’s up to Molly the maid to uncover the truth, no matter how dirty, in this standalone novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maid, a Good Morning America Book Club pick.

“Polished to perfection!”—Shari Lapena, author of Everyone Here Is Lying
 
“Lives up to the hype . . . both a delightful whodunit and a pointed social commentary.”—The Washington Post

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS’ CHOICE • A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: PopSugar, Harper’s Bazaar, Chicago Public Library


Molly Gray is not like anyone else. With her flair for cleaning and proper etiquette, she has risen through the ranks of the glorious five-star Regency Grand Hotel to become the esteemed Head Maid. But just as her life reaches a pinnacle state of perfection, her world is turned upside down when J. D. Grimthorpe, the world-renowned mystery author, drops dead—very dead—on the hotel’s tearoom floor.
 
When Detective Stark, Molly’s old foe, investigates the author’s unexpected demise, it becomes clear that this death was murder most foul. Suspects abound, and everyone wants to know: Who killed J. D. Grimthorpe? Was it Lily, the new Maid-in-Training? Or was it Serena, the author’s secretary? Could Mr. Preston, the hotel’s beloved doorman, be hiding something? And is Molly really as innocent as she seems?
 
As the high-profile death threatens the hotel’s pristine reputation, Molly knows she alone holds the key to unlocking the killer’s identity. But that key is buried deep in her past, as long ago, she knew J. D. Grimthorpe. Molly begins to comb her memory for clues, revisiting her childhood and the mysterious Grimthorpe mansion where she and her dearly departed Gran once worked side by side. With the entire hotel under investigation, Molly must solve the mystery posthaste. Because if there’s one thing she knows for sure, it’s that secrets don’t stay buried forever.
Nita Prose is the author of The Maid, which has sold over 1 million copies worldwide and was published in more than forty countries. A #1 New York Times bestseller and a Good Morning America Book Club pick, The Maid won the Ned Kelly Award for International Crime Fiction, the Fingerprint Award for Debut Novel of the Year, the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, and the Barry Award for Best First Mystery. The Maid was also an Edgar Award finalist for Best Novel. Nita Prose lives in Toronto, Canada, in a house that is only moderately clean.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593356180
ISBN-10: 0593356187
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: November 28th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Molly the Maid
“A page-turning delight from start to finish . . . Once I checked into the Regency Grand, I never wanted to leave.”—Jenny Jackson, author of Pineapple Street

“Solving a crime has never been more delightful. Molly Gray is a gift to the world, and this is a book to hug when you finish it.”—Nina de Gramont, New York Times bestselling author of The Christie Affair

“Wise and winning and altogether wondrous . . . perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Knives Out, and tasteful whodunits of any vintage . . . a splendid novel to restore your faith in character-driven storytelling.”—A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“Nita Prose writes like no other—I loved this even more than her utterly delightful debut.”—Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push and The Whispers

“A strong and stylish whodunit that captivates from page one - a pitch-perfect plot delivered with Nita Prose’s brand of joyful storytelling. A tale that captures your heart while it baffles your mind. . . . Be sure to put out the ‘do not disturb’ sign while you lose yourself in this exquisite follow-up.”—Janice Hallett, internationally bestselling author of The Appeal

“A rollicking, riotous, rollercoaster of a mystery. Clever clues, a smorgasboard of suspects, and a rocket-fuel pace.”—Benjamin Stevenson, internationally bestselling author of Everyone in my Family Has Killed Someone

“Molly Gray is the most charming amateur sleuth in modern literature. Prepare to fall in love with this fast-paced, clever whodunit full of laughs and overflowing with heart.”—Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names

“Nita Prose shines with the return of Molly the maid who is one of the most memorable, endearing characters I’ve ever read. From page turning suspense, to laugh-out-loud humor and moments that are deeply heartfelt, The Mystery Guest has it all! This book is a knockout.”—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing

“Nita Prose and her protagonist share an eye for detail, but it’s not just that which makes The Mystery Guest such a satisfying and enjoyable read. It is also the masterly characterization, the deft plotting, the whip-smart dialogue and the clever structure. A flawless and brilliant read.”—Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Strange Sally Diamond

“Oh, how I enjoy Molly’s take on life! Another gorgeous book from Nita Prose, cleverly conceived, written with panache and jam-packed with joy.”—Hazel Prior, internationally bestselling author of How the Penguins Saved Veronica