Double Reverse (Sports Stories) (Paperback)

Double Reverse (Sports Stories) Cover Image
$6.95
In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of Jun 15 9:20pm

Description


Calling all football fans An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

"This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they're too small or too female.... An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words." ―Kirkus Reviews

Do you have to be the "perfect" type to be a great football player?

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver―but can he play against type and help his new football team as a quarterback?

The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse's brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team―a girl named Savannah who is a goalie from the girls' soccer team.

In the afterword, Bowen provides real stories of successful professional athletes, like Pro Football Hall of Famer Fran Tarkenton, who did not "look the part."

Discussion Guide available.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781561458073
ISBN-10: 1561458074
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication Date: August 1st, 2014
Pages: 125
Language: English
Series: Sports Stories (Quality)

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card